U.S. Department of Commerce - Office of the Secretary U.S. Department of commerce seal


   
 
Commerce Employees banner

Home > Commerce Employees > Labor-Management Forum

Minutes - May 2010 meeting

Printable View

Minutes of May 19, 2010 Meeting

of the Department of Commerce and Labor Forum

On May 19, 2010, the Department of Commerce Labor-Management Forum met. The meeting started at 1:30 p.m. and concluded at 3:30 p.m. See attached for a list of attendees.

The Management Co-Chair announced that the National Council on Federal Labor-Management Relations certified the Department’s implementation plan on May 5, 2010. It was also announced that the joint efforts of management and the unions representing bargaining unit employees in the Herbert C, Hoover Building (HCHB) will result in the introduction of credit/debit card machines in the HCHB, effective Monday, May 25.

The Forum members discussed possible way to improve the cost efficiency of travel for Department employees. It was pointed out that the cost of refundable Government airline tickets is substantially higher than nonrefundable tickets purchased online from such sources as Expedia. It was suggested that the Forum look into ways to permit employee to purchase nonrefundable tickets. The matter of revising the Department Travel Handbook was referred to the Innovations Working Group to determine if any flexibility currently exists regarding the booking of trips.

A new sub group of the Innovations Working Group was established to examine the possibility of improving the efficiency and lowering the costs of Department travel. The Co-Chairs appointed the following to the sub-group:

    o Andy Winer

    o May Pleffner

    o Dan Sobien

    o Bill Hopkins

    o John Markley

    o Dennis Anosike

It was agreed that both management and labor representatives of the Forum will solicit and identify pilot programs by May 26. The Labor-Management Innovation Working Group will review and evaluate nominations in early June and make a presentation to the Forum on June 16.

The Innovations Working Group will also monitor the progress of projects that are selected and make reports to the National Council.

Representatives from the Census Bureau suggested a pilot on telework and the barriers to teleworking, e.g., IT policies, the nature of work, etc.

A Communications Working Group was formally created with the following members:

    o Dennis Anosike

    o Deborah Jefferson

    o David Robinson

    o Howard Friedman

    o Bill Schauman

    o Hugh Sharkey

It was suggested that an All Hands Broadcast message be sent from the Secretary to employees of the Department publicizing the efforts of the Forum and demonstrating his support for the joint cooperative efforts of labor and management. Another suggestion was for the Co-Chairs to issue a joint Broadcast message to all Department employees seeking nominations for potential B1 pilot projects.

Several members of the Forum suggested the Forum Working Group of Metrics not wait for the National Council on Labor-Management Relations to issue its guidance but rather move forward to develop metrics for the Department. One member commented that the Department could influence how the National Council approaches the situation.

The Forum agreed to meet in June, at which time they will develop the agenda for FY 2011. After the June meeting, the Forum will meet in September, subject to the call of the co-chairs.

Simon Szykman, the Department’s new Chief Information Officer, was introduced to the Forum. He explained that the role of information technology is to support the mission of the organization. In response to a concern raised by a Forum member, Mr. Szykman expressed his willingness to look at Department level obstacles but also indicated his desire to have matters addressed at the appropriate bureau level.

The Department’s Balanced Scorecard was distributed to all members of the Forum. Questions on the role of the score card were addressed and a comment was made that it is not the only measure of effectiveness of the organization.

The agenda for the June meeting will include reports from the Working Groups on Innovation, Metrics, and Travel; as well as a briefing on the Performance Excellence Program by John Charles, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Administration.

Attendees at the May 19, 2001 Meeting of the

Department of Commerce Labor-Management Forum

Printed Name

Email Address

Phone Number

Organization

Cartwright, Sean

SCartwright@eda.doc.gov

202-482-5081

EDA

Jefferson, Deborah

dJefferson1@doc.gov

202-482-4807

OHRM

Quehl, Scott

SQuehl@doc.gov

   

Reich, Jay

JReich@doc.gov

   

Robinson, David

david.robinson@nist.gov

301-975-5000

NIST

Winer, Andrew

Andrew.Winer@noaa.gov

202-302-4114

NOAA

Milman, Frank

fmilman@doc.gov

202-482-3321

OHRM

Turner, Fred

Fred.turner@uspto.gov

571-272-6148

USPTP

       

Budens, Robert

Robert.Budens@USPTO.GOV

571-272-0897

POPA

Davis, Russell B. Jr.

Russell.B.Davis.Jr@census.gov

301-763-1641

AFGE

Friedman, Howard

Howard.Friedman@USPTO.GOV

571-272-9319

NTEU

Hopkins, Bill

vp.nwseo@suddenlink.net

202-420-1045

NWSEO

Lehr, Bill

Bill.Lehr@noaa.gov

 

IFPTE

Markley, Jonathan

JMarkley@eda.doc.gov

512-318-3856

AFGE

Myers, Randy

Randy.Myers@USPTO.GOV

571-272-7526

POPA

Schauman, William

William.Searles.Schauman@census.gov

301-763-3176

AFGE

Schwartz, Pamela

Pamela.Schwartz@USPTO.GOV

571-272-1528

POPA

Sobien, Dan

dansobien@verizon.net

202-420-1043

NWSEO

       

Byrd, Laverne

Eunice.L.Byrd@census.gov

301-763-6955

AFGE

Fenstermacher, David

David.Fenstermacher@USPTO.GOV

571-272-7102

POPA

Sharkey, Hugh

Hugh.A.Sharkey@noaa.gov

757-787-1126

NWSEO

Sterngast, Moses

Moses.Sterngast@census.gov

 

AFGE

Woodard, Alisa M

Alisa.M.Woodard@census.gov

 

AFGE

Kukovich, Ken

kkukovich@eda.doc.gov

202-482-0806

AFGE

       
       
       
       
       
       
       




A - Z Library for Commerce Employees