U.S. Department of Commerce - Office of the Secretary U.S. Department of commerce seal


   
 
Commerce Employees banner

Home > Commerce Employees > Labor-Management Forum

Minutes for April 21, 2010 DOC Forum

Printable View

Minutes of April 21, 2010 Meeting

of the Department of Commerce and Labor Forum

On April 21, 2010, the Department of Commerce Labor-Management Forum met with 13 labor and eight management members in attendance. The meeting started at 1:00 p.m. and concluded at 4:00 p.m. See attached for a list of attendees.

The efforts of the charter working group were recognized by both co-chairs of the Forum.

The working group reported to the Forum on the status of their efforts. Labor proposed several modifications to the latest management draft charter. Labor was seeking an understanding (memorandum of understanding) that any agreements resulting from bargaining over B1 matters by the local parties would not be disapproved on agency head review simply because they were B1 issues. Management assured labor that any agreements by the local parties over B1 issues would only be disapproved on agency head review if the proposals were inconsistent with law, Governmentwide-wide rule or regulation. That is the only basis for disapproval under the Federal Labor-Management Relations Statue.

Labor indicated that it was agreeable to language in the charter acknowledging the applicability of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) to the Forum and that all members must be Federal employees unless the White House, Office of Management and Budget, Office of Personnel Management, or the General Services Administration issued a contrary opinion on the applicability of FACA.

The members of the Forum, by consensus, adopted the charter. Once all the signatures are obtained, electronic copies will be provided to labor and management and a copy will be posted on the Labor-Management Forum web page on the OHRM web site.

The Metrics work group presented a report on their efforts to develop the metrics required by the Executive Order. The group is considering the use of the Department’s Balanced Score Card and the Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey as they will be capturing relevant data that could be used by the Forum. The work group is also considering the request of data from the bureaus on such matters as increased percent of alternative dispute resolution processes, increased union and employee engagement in pre-decisional matters, and increased use of labor-management councils as a venue to discuss and make a good faith attempt to solve proposed changes in conditions of employment.

The members discussed the possibility of union involvement in the development of the Department Balanced Score Card. Management indicated that device was a management tool of the Secretary’s to measure the effectiveness of the Department’s operations.

The Metrics working group clarified that it was simply informing the Forum of measures being considered. No recommendations have been finalized or approved, particularly with respect to the Balanced Score Card which will not be ready until early May.

The issue of what “consensus” means was discussed, and the members agreed that the language in the charter meant that the Forum members looked to each of the Co-Chairs for a representation that the respective side had arrived at a consensus on an issue.

Management wanted to be clear that the provision regarding use of official time for Forum matters was not intended to be a model for every committee and council. Procedures for the use of official time at the level of recognition are usually contained in the local collective bargaining agreement. Management indicated that, although it had concerns with the possibility that official time could be used too freely, it had trust and faith that labor members would not abuse this provision and labor representatives would police themselves. Monthly reports on the use of official time will be provided by the labor relations staffs of the bureaus.

The Forum discussed the possibility of establishing permanent working groups, such as one on communication. That issue was tabled until the May meeting.

Possible suggested topics for the May meeting include: permanent working groups; B1 projects; cyber security; communication and PII; and a presentation of the Washington State Performance Excellence program.

Attachment

Attendees for April 21, 2010 Meeting of

DOC Labor-Management Forum

Name

Organization

Phone Number

Email Address

Anosike, Dennis

OS

202.482.3533

danosike@doc.gov

Budens, Robert

POPA

571.272.0897

robert.budens@uspto.gov

Curtis, Keith

AFSA/ITA

202-361-2080

Keith.curtis@trade.gov

Cartwright, Sean

EDA

202.482.5081

scartwright@doc.gov

Davis, Russ

AFGE/Census

301.763.1641

russell.b.davis.jr@census.gov

Focarino, Peggy

USPTO

571.272.8800

peggy.focarino@uspto.gov

Friedman, Howard

NTEU/PTO

571.272.9319

Howard.friedman@uspto.gov

Hopkins, Bill

NWSEO

202.420.1045

execvice@nwseo.org

Jefferson, Deborah

OHRM

202.482.4807

Djefferson1@doc.gov

Lehr, Bill

IFPTE/NOAA

206.719.1813

Pres@IFPTE8A.org

Locker, Howard

USPTO/POPA

571.272.0980

Howard.locker@uspto.gov

Markley, Jonathan

AFGE/EDA

512.381.3156

jmarkley@eda.doc.gov

Milman, Frank

OHRM

202.482.3321

fmilman@doc.gov

Myers, Randy

POPA/USPTO

571.272.7526

randy.myers@uspto.gov

Quehl, Scott

OCFO/ASA

202.258.4901

squehl@doc.gov

Reich, Jay

OS

202.482.4246

jreich@doc.gov

Ribas, Eddie

NOAA

301.713.9099, x115

Eduardo.j.ribas@noaa.gov

Robinson, David

NIST

301.975.5000

David.robinson@nist.gov

Schauman, Bill

AFGE 2782

301.763.3176

president@afge-local2782.org

Schwartz, Pamela

POPA/USPTO

571.272.1528

Pamela.schwartz@uspto.gov

Sharkey, Hugh

NWSEO/NOAA

757.709.0174

Hugh.a.sharkey@noaa.gov

Siger, Rick

OS

202.482.8376

rsiger@doc.gov

Smith, Tyra Dent

Census

301.763.3721

tyra.dent.smith@census.gov

Sobien, Dan

NWSEO/NOAA

202.420.1043

president@nwseo.gov

Turner, Fred

USPTO

571.272.6148

Fred.turner@uspto.gov

       
       
       
       
       
       




A - Z Library for Commerce Employees