U.S. Department of Commerce - Office of the Secretary U.S. Department of commerce seal


   
 
Commerce Employees banner

Home > Commerce Employees > Labor-Management Forum

Minutes of March 2, 2010 Pre-Forum Meeting

Printable View

Minutes of March 2, 2010 Meeting

Between the Department of Commerce and Labor

Pre-Forum

On March 2, 2010, representatives from the Department of Commerce met with representatives of the bargaining units in the Department of Commerce. The meeting started at 3:30 p.m. and concluded at 5:30 p.m. See attached for a list of attendees.

Each of the attendees introduced themselves.

Secretary Locke addressed the meeting noting that the Forum was a Department of Commerce priority, recognizing the unique contributions that employees and their representatives make in the everyday work of the Department, that employees should take pride in the Department and should receive the respect they deserve as critical to the Department’s success, and that the expertise and experience of employees and their representatives are critical to improving the services that the Department provides.

Scott Quehl/Management Co-Chair welcomed all the Forum members and stated that we are here for practicable engagement to improve delivery of services. The Forum provides an excellent opportunity for labor and management together to identify methods for such improvement.

Dan Sobien/Labor Co-Chair commented that Labor’s view of the Executive Order is that it is an opportunity for Labor and Management to show the American People how Government can work.

A report was provided on the February 26, 2010 meeting of the National Council of Federal-Labor Management Relations.

Dan Sobien/Labor Co-Chair handed out a draft charter based on Management’s draft that had previously been circulated. He generally reviewed the provisions of Labor’s version of the charter

A discussion ensued on how the Forum should address the differences in the charters and whether a working group to understand and narrow the issues should be formed..

There was discussion whether audio or video transmissions of the Forum would facilitate participation and transparency and relieve budgetary and scheduling pressures.

A discussion ensued regarding the requirements of the implementation plan due to OPM by March 9 as required by the EEO.

Labor representatives emphasized the importance to Labor of pursuing a pilot program with regard to B1 issues to indicate trust and respect between the groups and to demonstrate that together we could tackle issues important to the Department’s mission.

Scott Quehl/Management Co-Chair commented that the issue of a pilot project deserves more attention than we can provide today and cannot be resolved prior to the March 9 submission of the implementation plan.

There was discussion of creating a Charter working group to reconcile the two versions of the charter , to identify issues of agreement and disagreement and to make recommendations to the Forum including how we might proceed to discuss a pilot program. It was suggested we put an explicit placeholder in the implementation plan reserving the right to submit a pilot program for consideration when we had more time to consider how best to proceed in this regard.

The Co-Chairs agreed that each side submit names for a working group on the charter, that each side submit names for a working group to develop a baseline and develop metrics for longer term measurement, and that Management mark up the draft implementation plan that had been previously circulated and submit it to Management for ultimate approval by the Co-Chairs and submission by March 9, 2010.

There was a discussion of having only Federal employees as members of the Forum. The question was whether the Federal Advisory Committee Act applied to meetings of the Forum and the need to ensure that only Federal employees are members of the Forum. The issue will be reviewed before the next meeting of the Forum.

The Co-Chairs agreed that they would develop agendas for future meetings and post them on the OHRM we site.

Attendee

Organization

Phone Number

Email Address

Rebecca Balogh

ASFA – ITA

202-647-3407

Rebecca.balogh@trade.gov

Robert D. Budens

POPA – USPTO

571-272-0897

Robert.budens@uspto.gov

Sean Cartwright

EDA

202-482-5081

scartwright@eda.doc.gov

Randi Ciszewski

MMP & MEBA – NOAA

202-841-4252

randic@mebaunion.org

Keith Curtis

AFSA – ITA

202-482-9088

Keith.curtis@trade.gov

Russ Davis

AFGE – Census

301-763-1641

Russell.b.davis.jr@census.gov

Peggy Focarino

USPTO

571-272-8800

Peggy.focarino@uspto.gov

Howard Friedman

NTEU – USPTO

571-272-9319

Howard.friedman@uspto.gov

William Hopkins

NWSEO - NOAA

202-420-1045

execvice@nwseo.org.

Deborah A. Jefferson

OHRM

202-482-4807

Djefferson1@doc.gov

William Lehr

IFTPE – NOAA

206-526-6310

Pres@ifpte8a.org

Howard J. Locker

POPA – USPTO

571-272-0980

Howard.locker@uspto.gov

Jonathan Markley

AFGE – EDA

512-381-3156

jmarkley@eda.doc.gov

Victoria Martin

AFGE – Census

502-494-5577

Victoria.l.martin@census.gov

Marguerite Matera

NWSEO – NOAA

978-281-9231

Marguerite.matera@noaa.gov

Frank Milman

OHRM

202-482-3321

fmilman@doc.gov

Randall Myers

POPA – USPTO

571-272-7526

Randy.myers@uspto.gov

Scott Quehl

CFO/ASA

   

Jay Reich

O/S

202-482-4246

jreich@doc.gov

David Robinson

NIST

301-975-5000

David.robinson@nist.gov

William S. Schauman

AFGE – Census

Absent

Absent

Pamela Schwartz

POPA – USPTO

571-272-2158

Pamela.Schwartz@USPTO.GOV

Debra Simecek-Beatty

IFPTE – NOAA

206-647-3407

Debra.simecek-beatty@noaa.gov

Tyra Dent Smith

Census

301-763-3721

Tyra.dent.smith@census.gov

Dan Sobien

NWSEO – NOAA

202-420-1043

president@nwseo.org

Moses Sterngast

AFGE – Census

520-798-4157

Moses.sterngast@census.gov

Andy Winer

NOAA

202-482-4640

Andrew.winer@noaa.org

Alisa Woodard

AFGE – Census

502-468-1479

Alisa.m.woodard@census.gov




A - Z Library for Commerce Employees